Emeli Sandé won two awards at the 58th Ivor Novello Awards in London today. Her song ‘Next to Me’ (co-written with Hugo Chegwin, Harry Craze and Anup Paul) was voted the ‘Best Song Musically and Lyrically’. The same song also won the PRS for Music award for ‘Most Performed Work’.

Calvin Harris was voted Songwriter of the Year, while Randy Newman, Noel Gallagher, Alt-J and The Maccabees also won big at the prestigious event which is staged annually by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA), in association with the UK collection society PRS For Music.

The ‘Ivor’ awards are judged by the British writing community and are designed to celebrate, honour and reward excellence in songwriting and composing. They are regarded as the most important awards for UK music writers.

Full list of winners at the 58th Ivor Novello Awards:

Best Contemporary Song – ‘Pelican’ (written by Sam Doyle, Rupert Jarvis, Orlando Weeks, Felix White and Hugo White).

PRS for Music Most Performed Work – ‘Next to Me’ (written by Hugo Chegwin, Harry Craze, Anup Paul and Emeli Sandé).

Best Television SoundtrackLucian Freud: Painted Life (composed by John Harle).

The Ivors Inspiration Award – Marc Almond

Album Award
Alt-J’s An Awesome Wave (written by Thomas Green, Joe Newman, Gwilym Sainsbury and Augustus Unger-Hamilton).

The Ivors Classical Music Award – Errollyn Wallen MBE

PRS for Music Award for Outstanding Achievement – Justin Hayward

Best Original Film ScoreAnna Karenina (composed by Dario Marianelli)

Best Song Musically and Lyrically
‘Next to Me’  (written by Hugo Chegwin, Harry Craze, Anup Paul and Emeli Sandé).

International Achievement – Gavin Rossdale

Songwriter of the Year – Calvin Harris

Outstanding Song Collection – Noel Gallagher

PRS for Music Special International Award – Randy Newman

Watch the official video for Emeli Sandé’s ‘Next To Me’ HERE…

Watch the official video for The Maccabees’ ‘Pelican’ HERE…

Watch the official video for Alt-J’s ‘Tessellate’ HERE…

# # # #

How [Not] To Write A Hit Song! – 101 Common Mistakes To Avoid If You Want Songwriting Success” is now available from Amazon’s Kindle Store for only US$7.22 or GB£4.78.

Read a FREE sample of the book HERE (USA) and HERE (UK).

Also available from Apple’s iTunes Store (Books/Arts & Entertainment/Music).